Homemade ricotta

As part of the lasagna I made the other night, I decided to do some homemade ricotta too, something I’ve been wanting to try for a while. Well, I made it, it turned out great, and I’m happy to tell you that it’s also super easy.

All you purists may want to turn back now – technically, it’s not true ricotta, which is made from the leftover whey of other cheese. But for our purposes, it serves just fine.

Homemade Ricotta (makes approx. 2 cups)

8 cups whole milk (I actually did 7 cups of milk, and 1 cup of cream)
1 Tbsp salt
4 Tbsp white vinegar

In a medium saucepan, add the milk (and cream) and salt. Heat until the milk just starts to simmer, stirring occasionally.

Add the vinegar, then stir a few times. Remove from heat.Almost immediately, the milk will start to curdle. Let it sit for a couple more minutes, stirring once or twice more.

Over a deep bowl, place a colander or other large strainer, lined with cheesecloth. Using a slotted spoon, move the curds from the pan to the colander. The firmer you want the cheese, the longer you let it drain, from a couple minutes to 20 or so.

Transfer to a small container, use it in a recipe, or eat it while it’s still warm! Sources say this will keep for a few days in the refrigerator, but I’m betting you’ll never find out.

3 thoughts on “Homemade ricotta

  1. […] The challenge for this week involved making something vegetarian. My response to that was a creamy vegetarian lasagna with home-grown butternut squash, oyster mushrooms from Killbuck Valley, and some arugula that we picked up at the market on Saturday. Oh, and the noodles were homemade.  And so was the ricotta. […]

  2. I’m glad to see the photos of this, since I was at work when the process occurred. The lasagna was delicious! Thanks for spoiling me. 🙂

  3. […] around for a bit too long, and actually curdled itself while I was heating it and turned into a ricotta-type product. I salvaged it into lasagna, but it wasn’t the yogurt I was hoping for. So this […]

Leave a Reply

