Almost sugarin’ time

The weather here over the past several days has been perfect for getting the sap flowing – below freezing at night, sunny and warmer during the day. This has left me in a conundrum. It’s still fairly early, but with the way the weather has been, this could be the best stretch we have all season. I’m not really prepared either – still waiting on some supplies, and I was going to try to make a bigger evaporating pan.

So I guess I’m going to hold off for now. It does look like it’s going to get back to more typical winter weather for the rest of the week, but I’ll just have to watch the forecast. We’re also in a pretty heavy maple syrup area, and so far, I haven’t noticed anyone else tapping. Crazy winter, what little we had.

Anyone else have good sap weather? Have you started tapping yet?

Leave a comment